Keeping Perspective

Broken Spigot              I am a bit sobered this morning by the news out of the Midwest, particularly Arkansas, and the news of the storm-related deaths. When tragedies like those from yesterday strike I think we all feel grateful for the safety of our loved ones, and we mourn for those who have lost a friend or family member. All too often it is easy to lose perspective and focus on the unimportant or the mundane and to lose sight of what is truly important. 

This weekend at my home an outdoor spigot broke in an exterior wall; I was able to shut the water off before any real damage was done, but as I looked at the scope of the repair and what is involved I have to admit I became annoyed. What should be a simple repair is going to be a real pain; however, as I sit here in front of my computer this morning I am struck by the trivial nature of my problem. Is it really important given the losses some folks have suffered? Obviously, the answer is no, but in the heat of the moment it sure seemed so. I guess the question we should ask ourselves is whether what we are faced with will seem important in a week, a month, or better yet, a year. If it will not then perhaps we ought to just take a deep breath and let the little things go. Easier said than done, I know, but in our hearts we know this to be the right path.

This same weekend one of my children went to my wife’s family reunion in North Carolina; my wife and I were unable to make it, so it was nice my son could go when we could not. He sent us a picture of his cousin playing the banjo and singing; what made this so great is that his cousin had a stroke a year ago, and it was thought he would never play again. My son sent another picture of him with his wife and his aunt all wearing their hats for the best hat contest. Each is smiling and all three have their arms across intertwined. Will I remember these pictures and what they represent in a year? Yes; the spigot not so much.

I deal with families breaking up all the time. Those that deal best with the heartache are those that keep perspective; they are the ones who realize it is about current and future relationships and not the stuff. Somehow, as they keep their eyes on where they want to be in a year they make it through the moment that is now. We can do the same. Let us know if we can help you in your journey.

1 thought on “Keeping Perspective

Leave a comment