“Burning Down the House”

Burning house I’m a connections person; I don’t have many original ideas, but I like to think I have a knack for seeing the link between what might be seemingly disparate ideas. So, I’m listening to the radio (which I rarely do), and on comes Burning Down the House by the Talking Heads. Released in 1983 this was part of the group’s fifth album, Speaking in Tongues. For those of you not in the know, speaking in tongues is known as Glossolalia which is a phenomenon in which people appear to speak in languages unknown to them.  Part of the lyrics are: 

Hold tight wait till the party’s over

Hold tight We’re in for nasty weather

There has got to be a way

Burning down the house

Heck if I know what any of that means, but one of the band members said the song came out of a jam session in which the band just worked with the lyrics until they fit the rhythm of the music. But as I said, I was listening to the radio, and I heard this song and it made me think about what I’m doing to protect my house. This question was prompted in part because just a few days ago I sat in an emergency preparedness meeting in which the 2012 Waldo Canyon Fire came up. During that fire, as many of you know, over 300 homes burned, and two people died. During the emergency my wife and I were evacuated from our home, and we lost access to our business office.

So I asked myself the question again: “What am I doing to protect my house?” (Note, when I speak of protecting my house I am not just thinking about my physical home; I am also thinking of the other assets I have). And as I thought about this I had to acknowledge that the answer is, “not much.” In the meeting I attended one of the presenters asked if everyone knew how to turn off the gas connection to their home. My wife and I looked at each other and just kind of blinked. I knew vaguely, but my wife had no idea. A few other questions similar to the first were asked, and while we had done some things to prepare for another disaster, by and large we were no more prepared than we had been 5 years ago. Why not? Because after the fire was contained we went back to our lives. If you drive through the Rockrimmon area of Colorado Springs today you will see little evidence of the fire. This is both good and bad; it’s good because it shows fortitude, but it’s bad in the sense that we forget what we should of learned, which is to be prepared for unexpected.

It doesn’t take much to be prepared, but it does take planning. Ask yourself the tough questions none of us like to ask ourselves such as: 1) Is my family protected if I die?, 2) What happens if I cannot make decisions for myself?, or 3) Who will take care of my children? If you cannot answer these questions may be you need to consult with someone who can help you get answers.

Look, we all tend to ignore the “white noise” in our lives, and to treat those who try to give us good advice as if they are speaking to us in tongues, but it doesn’t have to be this way. Contact us if we can help you figure out some of the answers. We can help with these and other questions that concern you, your family and your children.

Leave a Reply

