Sometimes a Little Pain is Necessary

Chinese acupuncture on asian woman back for healing back pain

This is a great time of the year; the year is still full of promise and the whole of it is before us. Here in Colorado there is a light snow falling, and it looks like a scene out of Currier & Ives. I had to plow the drive this morning, but our snow-blower is broken, and I had to use the ATV with the plow blade. Bummer.

Anyway, this is a time for change. Last night as I drove home I glanced at the time and realized it was still light, so even the season reflects a sense of change. With the New Year I have set some goals as well. One is to overcome some things that I tolerate in my life. I have made a rather lengthy list, and I am steadily working to eliminate some of the things in my life that hold me back. Consequently, I have made a decision to get healthy. I am not overweight, but I have lived with some pain issues that affect me daily. Before Christmas I went to my health care provider and I got a referral for physical therapy. I have been to four sessions so far, and I am starting to feel like we are making some progress. My physical therapist has been using dry needle therapy in an effort to enhance the flexibility in my calf, but the needles bend, and he is finding it hard to get the desired result. He has also been using release therapy, and I gotta tell you it hurts. Makes me want to cry like a small child, but today I have to say I am feeling some positive results.

My point then is this: sometimes what we need to do hurts, but we need to do it in order to change what’s holding us back. All too often we tolerate things in our lives that are like thorns, and to move forward we have to pull them out. I know there any many struggling with the results of poor divorce outcome, parenting plan or financial settlement. It doesn’t have to be that way. Sometimes we cannot go it alone, so get the advice you need. At least then you can make an informed decision. We’ll tell you if we can help or if we can’t, but at least you will have the information you need to make an informed decision. Don’t depend on what your friends say.

First tip for the year: Don’t be a jerk and fight through the kids. Judges are a rather jaded bunch, and they think they have heard and seen it all. So when you and your ex fight don’t do it through the children. It hurts them, and it forces the Court to make a decision based on what might be incomplete facts. Keep a journal, and always, always, communicate in a civil manner. Always ask yourself what it is going to sound like when your text or email is read aloud in court. Don’t use the police to harass your ex; everyone sees this for what it is. Rise above what led to the breakup of the relationship and focus on the end goal which is to get the parenting time or settlement you want. This requires patience, but it produces results. Remember, the ox is slow, but the earth is patient (see Buckaroo Banzai).

Leave a Reply

