Help?

SOSSo it’s been nearly a month since my last blog entry. During this period my wife and I went to Utah to celebrate Thanksgiving with our children. While there my daughter asked us to meet her boyfriend, but she asked me not to be weird. I asked her, “If I act differently than I normally do you will think I am weird, and if I act normally your friend might think I am weird. Which do you want?”

She glared at me and told me to be charming. I asked what that was and she gave me a look. You know, that look that says if you ruin my life I will never speak to you again look. So the day before Thanksgiving we all met for lunch. It was a disaster. My daughter was angry at me at the end and told me I had likely ruined her life. I hate it when I ruin my children’s lives. Anyway, he came to dinner the next day. I tried to be better, but I am not sure I was. I yelled at him when we played “Taboo” as a family; it’s what I would have done if one of my other children had lost the round. My daughter kicked me under the table. She had complained that I hadn’t looked at him when we had met for lunch so I stared at him while we ate Thanksgiving dinner. She kicked me then, too. Hope I didn’t ruin her life; I tried not to but you never know.

Our lives are often like this. We muddle through doing the best we can. And often we are making mistakes because we just don’t know any better. Frequently, it is because we are afraid to get advice; don’t be this person. Put your mind at rest and get the information you need. It will help you sleep better and might keep your kids from hating you. If it’s a legal matter we can help or point you in the right direction. Enjoy the holidays!

Leave a Reply

