Be Prepared

Prepare sticky croppedAs I mentioned in my last post, I recently celebrated a birthday. It’s funny how your thoughts about age change as you mark another year. I used to think that 54 was old, but now that I am there it does not seem so old. Of course, my daughter would likely tell me that I am a broken down model badly in need of replacement, while my middle child would remind me that he is better looking than I am, as if there ever was a debate over the issue. 

For me, more so than New Year’s, birthdays are a time to reflect on where I have been and where I am going. This year is no different. One of the questions I always ask myself is how the coming year is going is going to be different.

I think for me my efforts will center around preparedness. While I cannot predict the future, I can, with reasonable certainty anticipate at least some things. I know that I will continue to age and that with this issues will arise. Accordingly, I can take some steps to mitigate the effects of what might happen.

Consequently, I will do the little things to make sure that if something unexpected happens that I have at least made some effort to plan for it; therefore, I resolve I will:

– Ensure my powers of attorney are up to date.
– Review my living will, and
– I will review my insurance and my wife’s.
– Make sure my family knows where key documents are located.

None of the above are that dramatic, but they can have big consequences. Sometimes we look for a things that will offer us the greatest return when in reality it is the small things, carefully planned, that deliver the greatest benefits.

Each of us is aging, and we each have a responsibility to do something to prepare. Don’t be caught short as the consequences may be dramatic. Case in point: Colorado recognizes common law marriage, and I recently had a client who thinks he was in a common law relationship. His wife died, and she had a child from a previous relationship. That child does not think wife was married and we had to fight it out in Court. A few simple things, like a will, could have prevented this from happening. Similarly, I had another common law relationship during which wife was briefly hospitalized, but because the couple had not planned ahead her common law husband was unable to speak to doctors about his wife’s care.

What is it you need to do to provide for your family?  Contact me if I can help in your preparations.

Leave a Reply

