The Power of a Fist Bump

Fist Bump“No act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted.” -Aesop

“Just one more step, just one more step,” is what I kept saying to myself as I was trodding along on my 60 minute stair climber workout at the gym. As I took each step, it became harder and harder for me to breathe. My muscles ached and my eyes stung from the sweat dripping from my pores; however, I kept focusing on the step in front of me.  With only about 20 minutes left in my “stairs that go nowhere” workout, I was ready to throw in the towel. I convinced myself that a 40 minute workout was pretty darn good and I just did not know if I had it in me to continue on my journey. Then, out of the blue, I was given the motivation I needed to carry on. A fist bump!

A random man was walking around the gym fist bumping fellow gym members as they were working out. He went down the row of stair climbers and gave everyone, including me, a fist bump. The expressions on the faces of those that received a fist bump were ones of surprise, but more importantly joy. That small act kindness was enough to help me power through the last 20 minutes of my workout and realize that I did have it in me to finish what I started.

My experience at the gym has made me reexamine how I counsel my clients during their legal journey. Family law cases can be long and emotional and also accompanied with varying highs and lows. At certain points, clients want to throw in the towel by not fighting for what they are legally entitled to. At these pivotal moments is when someone going through a divorce or separation needs a fist bump.

I do not mean that I personally fist bump each of my clients to help them carry on through their case, but I do believe during those emotionally trying times appreciation of the small things helps carry my clients through to the end of their case. Small acts of kindness manifest in a variety of different ways. For example, a hug from your child, having a cup of coffee with an old friend, the smell of bacon, reading a good book, someone holding the door open for you, a compliment, etc.

If you or a loved one is currently going through or contemplating a divorce or separation, remember to appreciate the small things each day because they can have a profound effect on your journey and provide the motivation to carry on.  Let us know if we can help.

– by Chris Nicolaysen

Leave a Reply

