Why I Chose To Go To Law School

Why Law School?

I chose to attend law school because I wanted to change my family tree.  I am the first and only member of my immediate family to graduate from college.  My parents are hardworking individuals, but were indifferent as to what their children did after high school.  Thus, all of my educational experiences after high school happened because of a self-motivated desire to learn.  As I went through the process of taking classes, meeting new people, talking to professors, etc., I came to the realization of how important education truly is.

Those experiences during my undergraduate degree developed within me a love of education that I wanted to further develop.  I chose law school as the vehicle to further my educational journey because to me, knowledge of the law is the highest form of education available.  I knew that just like my undergraduate experience, attending law school would be a completely new experience.  In my eyes, attending law school is another educational branch that will hopefully continue to shape and change my family tree.

Having developed a desire to continue learning within myself, I wanted to truly impart those experiences on my own children.  Attending law school is a way for me to keep my children focused on their post-secondary goals after high school.  My children are not only aware of the importance of an education, but have visited the law school with me.  In some ways, I am both a teacher to my children and a student at school.

Hopefully, this gives you some insight into why I chose law school.  In the coming weeks look forward to more posts about my experiences and thoughts about law school.

Chris

– Chris is a law clerk with The Moller Law Group, and is currently in his second year of law school.

Leave a Reply

